Yale Announces 2015 Prizewinners

February 24, 2015

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Lauren Cerand, (917) 533-0103 or NINE INTERNATIONAL WINDHAM-CAMPBELL PRIZEWINNERS ANNOUNCED Recipients, chosen for fiction, nonfiction, and drama, each receive $150,000 unrestricted grantsNEW YORK, FEBRUARY 24–– The Windham-Campbell Prizes announced today its third round of prizewinners, chosen confidentially in three categories –– fiction, nonfiction, and drama ––to honor and support writers anywhere in the world writing in English. The awards, which come with a $150,000 check, can be given for a body of work or extraordinary promise. The 2015 winners are, in fiction: Teju Cole, Helon Habila, and Ivan VladislaviÄ; in nonfiction: Edmund de Waal, Geoff Dyer, and John Jeremiah Sullivan; and, in drama: Jackie Sibblies Drury, Helen Edmundson, and Debbie Tucker Green. Full bios are just below. The Windham-Campbell Prizes were established by Donald Windham and Sandy M. Campbell to call attention to literary achievement and provide writers with the opportunity to focus on their work independent of financial concerns. The Prizes debuted in 2013. There is no submission process and winners are determined by a global group of invited nominators, a jury in each cate-gory, and a selection committee. In September, the winners will gather from around the world at Yale (where the Prizes are based), for an international literary festival celebrating their work. All events are free and open to the public. “The Windham-Campbell Prizes were created by a writer to support other writers, said Michael Kelleher, director of the program. “Donald Windham recognized that the most significant gift he could give to another writer was time to write. In addition to the recognition prestige it confers, the prize gives them just that – with no strings attached.â