Karl Ove Knausgård

Prize Ceremony and Lecture by Karl Ove Knausgård

Wednesday, September 13

5:00 PM

Sprague Hall
470 College Street
New Haven  Connecticut  06511
United States
Free & open to the public

Norwegian novelist Karl Ove Knausgård delivers the 2017 Windham-Campbell Lecture. President Peter Salovey presents the 2017 awards to André Alexis (fiction), Erna Brodber (fiction), Marina Carr (drama), Ali Cobby Eckermann (poetry), Carolyn Forché (poetry), Ike Holter (drama), Maya Jasanoff (nonfiction), Ashleigh Young (nonfiction).

Karl Ove Knausgård was born in Norway in 1968. He published his first novel, Out of the World, in 1998; it was the first debut novel ever to win The Norwegian Critics Prize for Literature. His second novel, A Time for Everything (2004) was also a great critical success, published in English in 2009 and longlisted for the 2010 International DUBLIN Literary Award. The autobiographical novel cycle My Struggle (2009-2011) (described as “Scandinavia’s greatest literary event” by Helsingin Sanomat), an international phenomenon, comprises six novels, which have sold in excess of 600,000 copies in Norway and have been published in over 15 languages. 

Co-sponsored by Yale University Press.